Sorry I Am Not Ideal: Body Shaming

I am fat, I am overweight! Oh sorry, hey there, that is just me body shaming myself and I would be lying to you if I said I did not do that to myself on a daily basis. I am not saying this to have people tell me that I should not think that or I am not, BUT I am telling you because I know I am certainly not the only one who does this. When your friend, who you think is perfect “please can I have her body instead of mine”, says to you “OMG I am so fat!” you immediately think how can she think this and people do not do this to get attention but the sad reality when you actually think about it is people actually think that about themselves. But not only is it people thinking they are fat it is also people thinking they are too thin, people thinking they are too tall or too small, too this, too that. Easy to say and I definitely need to take my own advice being a massive culprit of finding my imperfections, but darling no one is perfect yet you are beautiful. Think of it this way, in the future, or now you have a child, a beautiful girl or a handsome boy and they truly hate their body, how would that make you feel as a parent? Saddened. Gutted. Heart-Broken. That is because you love your child more than anything in the world, right? But people love you now and people care for you and people think you are amazing, and every time you say aloud or think that you hate yourself because your body does not conform it kills them like it would you with your child now or in the future. If you would not want your child to think that, you should not think that about yourself because you are someone’s child, someone’s friend, someone’s love. 

This seriously sounds like I have it all together, that I love every inch of my body. Wrong! Like everyone else I go through the constant battle of hating my body and how I look            e v e r y s i n g l e d a y , but we all must remember that we are who we are, and whether we believe that God made us or whatever we have to be who we are, because honestly we magnify everything to make ourselves feel 100% worse. When we think someone else is more perfect, she/he is probably looking at someone else thinking someone else is more perfect. It is immensely sad to think that in society today people are hating themselves because of their bodies, like seriously it is soooo sad, are we really still stuck on looks, everyone is beautiful it just takes the right person to see it, and do you know what I see it in you. And my friend, we are more than looks, we are intelligent, we are inner beauty.    
I know I am going to continue for a long time questioning the way I look, because this is what society and the media have done, but there is no “perfect” person. But every day try to find the good in yourself. You are more than just the way you look, you are a complicated array of beautifulness with a mind of wonder, you are you! I hope you realise you are not the only one who feels like this, I do too and I always feel like people are judging me, and I am the ugly friend, and lads are not going to like me because of my size and the way I look but I am me and do you know what that should be good enough for me and one day it will be! 
You are beautiful 
Much love 
Amelia-Jane  

Leave a Reply

